Faculty Spotlight: John M. Wachowicz Jr.


Johnn WachowiczOne of the college’s faculty standouts is John M. Wachowicz Jr., the Regions Bank Scholar in Banking and Finance. He has received fifteen teaching, research and service awards, including three MBA Outstanding Faculty Awards, the L.R. Hesler Award for Excellence in Teaching and Service, and two Alumni Outstanding Teacher Awards.

Wachowicz is an internationally published writer. He is co-author with Professor James Van Horne of Stanford University of Fundamentals of Financial Management, 13/e, FT/Pearson Education Ltd. (2009). This text has been translated into over 10 languages and received first place among business academic texts in Pearson's best seller's translation list.

Wachowicz earned his bachelor of science (accounting), Master’s degree (accounting), and Ph.D. (finance) from the University of Illinois, and is a Certified Public Accountant. His passion for financial management education and research has earned the respect and admiration of countless students, including Jenny Banner, a Department of Finance Advisory Council member and CEO of the Schaad Companies. In appreciation of Wachowicz’s influence on her education and success, Banner has established the John M. Wachowicz Jr. Finance Excellence Endowment. Earnings will be used to support the activities of the Financial Management Association and/or the Volunteers on Wall Street Program, which makes travel possible for students to learn first-hand about real-world financial dealings on Wall Street and with financial guru Warren Buffet. Contributions to this excellence fund are encouraged for all College of Business Administration graduates who learned from Dr. Wachowicz during their time at UT.

“I take pride in my teaching, the successes of my current and former students, and the impact of my textbook,” says Wachowicz.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Wachowicz on his great success in educating our future financial leaders and the establishment of the endowment newly created in his honor.


Return to front page >>