Department & Program News

Accounting and Information Management

Recently, several faculty members from the Department of Accounting and Information received honors within their industry. These faculty members are:  Bruce Behn, Ergen Professor in Accounting (American Accounting Association’s International Section’s Outstanding Service Award); Dan Murphy, Deloitte & Touche Professor and department head (Tennessee Society of CPAs’ Outstanding Educator Award); Joe Carcello, Ernst & Young Professor in Accounting (2007-2008 Beta Alpha Psi Professional of the Year). Congratulations to these deserving faculty members!


Several of the faculty members from the finance department have received professional designations. These new changes include: Tom Boehm (SunTrust Professor of Finance); Deborah Murphy (associate professor and College of Business Administration Investments Professor); Ray DeGennaro (College of Business Administration Professor of Banking and Finance); John Wachowicz (Regions Bank Scholar); Tracie Woidtke (associate professor and the David E. Sharp/Home Federal Bank of Tennessee Professor of Banking and Finance); and Philip Daves (associate professor and Voight Scholar). George C. Philippatos recently received the 2008 Oxford Journal Distinguished Research Professor Award from the Association of Business and Economic Research members. Philippatos now has retired from the finance department after 27 years as professor. The finance department also has welcomed a new faculty member, Assistant Professor Alvaro Taboada. Please join us in congratulating these faculty members on their achievements! 

Full-Time MBA Program

The full-time MBA program welcomed 91 exceptional new students to its program during orientation on August 4th. A full day of informative and interactive sessions introduced the new first-year students to its innovative 17-month program and to their new classmates. The highlight of the day for this diverse group of students was the MBA Alumni Panel made up of several successful MBA alums who shared their professional wisdom and real-world experiences with the students. A special “thank-you” to these ever-supportive alums: Jim Atchley (First Tennessee Bank, MBA ’88); Christie Ekern (iNano, MBA ’07); Carrie Fox (Jewelry Television ’02); and Monty Kilburn (Power Systems, Inc. ’02).  


The Department of Management is fast becoming one of the most exciting and dynamic departments on campus. Donde Plowman, Flaskerud Professor of Strategic Management, has accepted the position of interim department head with assistance from John Hoffman. Six of the management faculty members took student groups on study-abroad trips this past summer to countries that included France, Italy, and China. The department’s enterprise management major is the fastest growing major in the college; the program prepares students to lead organizations regardless of company size or age. The first part-time/evening master’s program in the college, human resource management, has come from this department. Six students are participating in the inaugural Ph.D. program in organizations & strategy. Several faculty members have won global recognition including Donde Plowman (Academy of Management Journal 2007 Best Paper); Russell Crook (Best Paper in the management education track at the Academy of Management meeting in Anaheim); Anne Smith (Best Reviewer for Business Policy & Strategy for the Academy of Management Journal); Detelin Elenkov (received a Fulbright Grant to explore “Developing Leadership and Cross-Cultural Skills in Future Leaders” at Sofia University in Bulgaria).

Human resource management students are continually finding ways to network and understand the human resource field. The local student chapter of SHRM, or Society of Human Resource Management, has planned a professional panel with 10 executives/managers on Tuesday, October 7, at 5:30 p.m. at the UT Visitor’s Center. These professionals will share their expertise and success stories. Students also may listen to career planning by Eastman Chemical on Tuesday, October 22, and be interviewed on the 23rd for a summer internship. Events such as these assist students in their career decisions and transition to the corporate world.

Marketing and Logistics

The college’s supply chain management/logistics rankings continue to excel. According to the 2009 U.S. News & World Report rankings, UT’s supply chain management/logistics program ranks 5th among top-tier public universities, up one position from 2008. Among the department’s faculty, recent achievements include Tom Mentzer, Harry J. & Vivienne R. Bruce Chair of Excellence, winning the Berkman Distinguished Service Award from the Academy of Marketing Science.He has been named one of the initial Chancellor's Professors effective next academic year. The Chancellor’s Professors will meet regularly to advise the provost, vice chancellor for research, and chancellor on matters of concern to the campus. They also will participate in the Chancellor’s Professor Faculty Lecture Series to take place at regular intervals during the academic year. Dave Schumann, Taylor Professor in Business, as the 2007 Alexander Prize award recipient, spoke at this year's university graduate hooding. He has been named the inaugural director of the Tennessee Teaching and Learning Center. Schumann's task is to create a functional center to aid both newly hired and veteran UT professors in their quest to become the best classroom teachers possible.

Statistics, Operations, and Management Science

Xin Zhang, a recent Ph.D. graduate in management science, was runner-up in the national student paper competition at the Institute of Management Science and Operations Research. Zhang’s paper, based on her dissertation with Chanaka Edirisinghe, was selected from a pool of hundreds of entries. Edirisinghe currently is on leave to Kansai University in Osaka, Japan. During the summer and fall semesters, he will serve as a visiting researcher in the faculty of informatics. He is conducting research with Professor Yugu Nakagawa in the areas of risk management, portfolio optimization, and pricing of financial products. Hamparsum Bozdogan, Toby & Brenda McKenzie Professor in Business, chaired and hosted the International Conference on Multivariate Statistical Modeling and High Dimensional Data Mining, June 2008, in Kayseri, Turkey. He has been appointed to the editorial board of the Journal of Business and Commerce of Istanbul University.


Return to front page >>