Faculty Spotlight

Dr. SrinivasanMandyam M. Srinivasan ("Srini") is the Ball Corporation Distinguished Professor of Business at the University of Tennessee. He teaches in the Executive MBA program, the Aerospace MBA program, the Professional MBA program, the Lean Enterprise Systems Design Institute, and in various other programs run by the Center for Executive Education. He has a B.S. degree in mechanical engineering and master’s degrees in machine tool design and business management. He received his Ph.D. from Northwestern University.

Srini worked for a number of years in two leading automobile manufacturing organizations and successfully installed and managed the materials planning and control systems in both organizations. He is the author of the book, Streamlined: 14 Principles for Building and Managing the Lean Supply Chain, and co-author of Supply Chain Management for Competitive Advantage: Concepts and Cases. He is the editor for IIE Transactions on Design and Manufacturing and has served as an associate editor for International Journal of Flexible Manufacturing Systems.

His research interests focus on stochastic models for supply chain management and on creating flow in high-variety, low-volume production systems. His work appears in many journals, including Operations Research, Management Science, IIE Transactions, IEEE Transactions on Communications, and Queueing Systems. His research and teaching efforts have been supported by grants from Northern Telecom, General Motors, Honeywell, IBM, the U.S. Air Force, and the National Science Foundation. He received the Chancellor's Award for Research and Creative Achievement from the University of Tennessee in 1996. In 2006, he received the Franz Edelman Award for achievement in operations research, awarded by the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences.

Srini has consulted with and offered training programs for numerous organizations including SPX, Textron, IBM, Sony, Allied-Honeywell, Boeing, Cutler-Hammer, Delta Airlines, and the U.S. Air Force. He was presented with the Richard D. Sanders Award for Leadership in Executive Education in 2007. Other recent teaching and research awards he has won include the Executive MBA Outstanding Faculty Award in 2007; the Professional MBA Outstanding Faculty Award in 2007; the Allen H. Keally Award for Outstanding Teaching, Research, and Service in 2006; the John B. Ross Outstanding Teacher Award in 2002; the Tennessee Organization of MBAs (TOMBA) Outstanding Faculty Award in 2002; and the Professional MBA Teaching Award in 2003.

Return to front page >>